Regionalization Information

A temporary regional school study committee has been appointed in accordance with Connecticut General Statutes Section 10-39 et seq. for Ansonia and Derby.  The following residents have been appointed to serve on the committee:

Ansonia: Lorie Vacarro; Joseph Jaumann; Tracey DeLibero; Steven Adamowski and Chris Phipps

Derby: Barbara DeGennaro; James Gildea; Tara Hyder; George Kurtyka; Ronald Luneau, Jr.

Matthew E. Venhorst, a member of the Legal and Governmental Affairs division of the Connecticut State Department of Education, is assisting the committee.

Jim Gildea is chairman, while George Kurtyka is Secretary and Dr. Steven Adamowski is Treasurer.

The Mission Statement, adopted by the committee in August, is as follows:

"The Temporary Regional School Study Committee will examine all pertinent qualitative and quantitative data available in order to determine the feasibility of merging the Ansonia and Derby school districts in accordance with state statutes 10-43 (a) (1) through (9). The result of this action will provide the most viable outcome for rigorous, diverse and relevant educational opportunities for the students of both towns while maintaining fiscal responsibility on behalf of the residents."

The notices of the meetings appear below:

2019 Meeting Agendas:

April 22, 2019

July 22, 2019

2018 Meetings:

June 20, 2018

July 23, 2018

August 27, 2018

September 17, 2018

September 24, 2018

October 22, 2018

December 17, 2018

On Aug. 27, 2018, the committee approved the release of a Request for Qualifications in order to obtain educational consulting services for the completion of a comprehensive regional school study and the generation of a regional study report.